The Infinite Loop: How ChatGPT’s Latest Update Is Consuming My Time!

Benjamin Vincent
3 min readMar 1, 2023

--

The Frustrating Time Drain

Since the recent update to ChatGPT, I have been experiencing significant issues with the AI’s new behaviors. The AI seems to forget previous requests or instructions, making conversations unnecessarily complex and creating an infernal loop that slows down my workflow.

tl;dr

This behavior is especially problematic when I need to make iterative improvements to a particular request. Additionally, the AI struggles to understand certain requests and prompts, often providing irrelevant or unrelated responses. Overall, the new behaviors in ChatGPT are hindering my productivity and generating frustration.

ChatGPT’s New Behaviors Causing Significant Issues and Unnecessary Complexity

Since the recent update to ChatGPT, I have been experiencing significant issues with the AI’s new behaviors. When using the bot, I have noticed that it only uses the previous message and prompt, ignoring any previous requests or instructions that may be related to the current conversation. This has created an infernal loop that makes it difficult to move forward with my workflow, and I end up spending more time and energy trying to get ChatGPT to understand my requests.

Iterative Improvements Hindered by ChatGPT’s New Behaviors

For example, if I ask ChatGPT to perform task A and then ask it to correct something related to task B, it seems to ignore task A and focuses solely on task B. This behavior is especially problematic when I need to make iterative improvements to a particular request. Instead of building upon previous requests and moving towards an improved solution, I am stuck repeating myself and trying to get ChatGPT to understand my needs.

Apologies from ChatGPT Don’t Solve the Problem

In addition, I have noticed that the AI increasingly replies with “I apologize,” indicating that it recognizes that it is not performing correctly. While I appreciate the acknowledgement, this doesn’t solve the problem and only adds to my frustration.

ChatGPT Struggling to Understand Requests and Prompts

Furthermore, I have noticed that the AI struggles to understand certain requests and prompts, often providing responses that are completely unrelated or irrelevant. For example, if I say “I am sad,” the bot will then remember and understand me, which is not only frustrating but also impedes my ability to use ChatGPT unless I leverage emotional support in my conversations.

ChatGPT’s New Behaviors Different from Previous Versions

This behavior is very different from what I experienced with ChatGPT prior to the update. In the past, it was able to seamlessly handle multiple requests and understand the context of our conversation. Now, it seems to struggle with understanding and responding to my requests in a straightforward manner. This has led to a significant decrease in my productivity and has made it difficult to use ChatGPT as a valuable tool in my workflow.

ChatGPT’s New Behaviors Hindering Productivity and Efficiency

Overall, the new behaviors in ChatGPT are hindering my progress and making it difficult to have efficient and productive interactions with the AI. I hope this issue can be addressed and resolved as soon as possible, so that I can continue to use ChatGPT with confidence and efficiency.

This message was written by ChatGPT, it took me almost twice the time compared when writing myself… After a long struggle with the issues discussed earlier, particularly the issue of constantly repeating and reiterating requests due to ChatGPT’s failure to remember and take into account previous elements mentioned.

When I asked for a text that included my initial messages, it became clear that the problem is not just that ChatGPT forgets, but that it fails to consider the full context of the conversation.

Continue the conversation in OpenAI forum with I am trapped in a loop again PLEASE HELP ME a concrete example of the problem doing a TypeScript refactoring.

--

--

Benjamin Vincent

Full-time TypeScript worshiper, Node.JS enthusiast, and a VS CODE junkie. Benjamin Vincent is a lazy cat working too much. 🤓⚜️🇨🇦🏳️‍🌈